The Liturgical Year

Liturgical Seasons


Church Year blue3The liturgical churches follow a yearly pattern of worship called the Church Year or the Liturgical year. This is divided into various liturgical seasons: Advent, Christmas, Epiphany, Lent, Holy Week, Easter, and Pentecost. Each season emphasizes appropriate lectionary readings. Click on the names of each of season to see an overview for that season.

The Liturgical Year closely follows the Jewish Calendar of Feast Days:


The Feast Days in the Jewish Calendar were not arrived at arbitrarily. Those days were appointed by God in Holy Scripture.  The most important of the Jewish Feasts were the three pilgrimage feasts appointed by God: Passover (Pesach), Feast of Weeks or Pentecost (Shavuot), and Tabernacles (Sukkot). Christian feast days correspond to these days: Our Easter is the Jewish Pesach and our Pentecost is the Jewish Shavuot. In fact, Easter and Pentecost are the prophetic fulfillment of their corresponding Jewish Feasts.

How does Sukkot fit in? Christmas is our Sukkot, but it is probably observed on the wrong date (because it took over a pagan holiday). It should probably be in the Jewish Fall of the year, when many Je2wish authorities believe their Messiah will be coming. God, in his mercy, honors our Christmas with his Spirit.

The Jewish Sukkot celebrates the time when God tabernacled in the wilderness with the Jews on the way to the promised land. That was thought to be a foretaste of God’s permanent residence in Jerusalem, and thus the prophetic fulfillment of Sukkot for the Jews. (See Jewish Feasts.)

See Liturgical Calendar for a detailed look at the lectionary readings for all Sundays and Holy Days for the current year and subsequent years.

One response to “The Liturgical Year

  1. Pingback: Church Year | preachtruthyoumoron